michael-fousert-9s5MWNVwDXQ-unsplash.jpg

Benefit
Lectures

constantinos-kollias-nESI7TqYBto-unsplash (1).jpg
Saint Paul in Ancient Corinth:
Archaeology and the Early Church

February 19, 2023 (Sunday)

          4:00–5:30pm Eastern Time (UTC-5:00)

          3:00–4:30pm Central Time (UTC-6:00)

          1:00–2:30pm Pacific Time (UTC-8:00)

Presenter: Jonathan J. Armstrong, Ph.D.

The American School of Classical Studies has excavated ancient Corinth since 1896, rendering this one of the most comprehensively researched archaeological sites to be of significance in the biblical record. This lecture will take the form of a virtual tour, showing what visitors can see at the site today and how Saint Paul would have experienced the site in the first century. We will also examine how the features of the ancient city show through in the literary record that Saint Paul leaves for us in his correspondence with the church at Corinth in our New Testaments. This lecture will showcase Jonathan's photographs from the archaeological site of ancient Corinth in Greece.

292813-Israel-Museum.webp
The Israel Museum in Jerusalem

May 8, 2023 (Sunday)

          4:00–5:30pm Eastern Time (UTC-5:00)

          3:00–4:30pm Central Time (UTC-6:00)

          1:00–2:30pm Pacific Time (UTC-8:00)

Presenter: Brian Donnely-Lewis

In this lecture, Brian Donnely-Lewis, Fellow of the Albright Institute of Archaeological Research in Jerusalem, will present on his research in the Israel Museum in Jerusalem.

Road to Emmaus.jpg
Finding Home:
Architecture's Long Journey

September 2, 2023 (Saturday)

          2:00–3:30pm Eastern Time (UTC-5:00)

          1:00–2:30pm Central Time (UTC-6:00)

          11:00am–12:30pm Pacific Time (UTC-8:00)

Presenter: David Wang, Ph.D.

From our house to the Bauhaus; from our church to St. Peter's; from our garden to Versailles; architecture is obsessed about finding home. This short presentation considers the long journey from Pastoral Paradise to Urban Paradise, and the architectures we experience along the way. One teaser: over the course of this long journey, architecture has always been about the disappearance of materiality (e.g., walls and roofs and REI tents), so that man and nature can be one again, without the need for "shelter." This desire in all people is fundamentally a holy desire. What does this mean for an architecture of virtual connectivity?

DSCF7450.jpg
May We Help?
Matthew Dereck
Director of Courses

 

Email Matthew